Debate of the Week: Star Wars v. Star Trek

By Richard Swanson – r1swanson@csbsju.edu

Star Wars is better than Star Trek in every possible way.

It is important to know that the Star Wars saga has collected a total of seven Academy Awards (while Star Trek has none). The American Film Institute rates Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope as the 11th greatest film of all time–no Star Trek film is featured on the list. Also, the fact that John Williams score is rated the best movie film score of all time (American Film Institute). (more…)

NBA looks at a struggling future amid declining popularity, talent

By Ben Pults – bpults001@csbsju.edu

With all of the current playoff action between NBA teams, some people have begun to wonder if the NBA is losing its popularity now more than ever before. I would tend to disagree with these naysayers, but after taking a step back and analyzing the larger scheme of things, I would agree with them and how the NBA is losing its adoration. (more…)

The dangers of alcohol, drugs have personal story and impact

By Annetta Sutton – annettamarie5@comcast.net

It was an honor to accept the invitation to speak at the Schirber Endowment Lecture on the reality and impact of alcohol and other drugs. The Endowment was given to St. John’s University by Martin ’42 and Rose Schirber, medical professionals with a specific request to provide this lecture topic. (more…)

Our View: Presidents’ approaches vary on student issues

“Our View” is prepared by the Executive board and should be considered the institutional voice of The Record

Megan Flynn, Editor-in-Chief – m1flynn@csbsju.edu
Hope Mueller, Managing Editor – hpmueller@csbsju.edu
Meredith Jarchow, Multimedia Editor – mgjarchow@csbsju.edu
Brendan Klein, Opinion/Editorial Editor – bdklein@csbsju.edu

“Two schools, one community.” We’ve heard that before.

The common catchphrase used by CSB/SJU admission offices to explain and excite prospective students can also present challenges for those within the community. The problem is it becomes difficult not to compare your school to the other one just down the road. (more…)